Click here for the Glossary page
Click here for the main index of the Burton Latimer Heritage Society site
Click here to return to the previous page

Chapman County Codes

The list given below is the Chapman County Code system, as used in Census lists to denote the various counties and registration authorities in the United Kingdom.

BDF Bedfordshire
BRK Berkshire
BKM Buckinghamshire
CAM Cambridgeshire
CHS Cheshire
CON Cornwall
CUL Cumberland
DBY Derbyshire
DEV Devon
DOR Dorset
DUR Durham
ERY Yorkshire - East Riding
ESS Essex
GLS Gloucestershire
GSY Guernsey
HAM Hampshire
HEF Herefordshire
HUN Huntingdonshire
IRL Ireland
IOM Isle of Man
IOW Isle of Wight
JSY Jersey
KEN Kent
LAN Lancashire
LEI Leicestershire
LIN Lincolnshire
LND London
MDX Middlesex
NRY Yorkshire - North Riding
NFK Norfolk
NTH Northamptonshire
NBL Northumberland
NTT Nottinghamshire
OXF Oxfordshire
RUT Rutland
SAL Shropshire (Salop)
SCT Scotland
SOM Somerset
STS Staffordshire
SFK Suffolk
SRY Surrey
SSX Sussex
WAL Wales
WAR Warwickshire
WES Westmorland
WIL Wiltshire
WOR Worcestershire
WRY Yorkshire - West Riding
YKS Yorkshire

Click here to return to the Main Index
Click here to return to the Genealogy Index